Senior Center Happenings: Clinton County

Senior center directors throughout our region work hard each day to create various social opportunities for their members. Here, Clinton County seniors pose for a group photo during the Valentine's Day party that was held at the center last week.

City of Russell Springs Receives ADF Grant 

The City of Russell Springs has received an Area Development Fund (ADF) grant for $42,188.32. The city will purchase two 2018 Transit 150 LR vans, which will be leased to Senior Services at the Regional Kitchen for the purpose of meal delivery to senior citizens. Pictured, left to right: Darryl McGaha, Russell Springs Mayor Eric Selby, and Jeric DeVore.

LCADD Seats 2018 Board of Directors

The Lake Cumberland Area Development District (LCADD) held its first Board of Director’s meeting of the year in January.

During the meeting, board officers for 2018 were elected as follows:  Columbia Mayor Curtis Hardwick, Chairman; Cumberland County Judge-Executive John Phelps, Jr., Vice Chairman; Green County Judge-Executive John Frank, Secretary; and McCreary County Citizen Member Allan Chapman, Treasurer.

In addition to board officers, the following were appointed to the executive committee: Science Hill Mayor Bill Dick; Wayne County Judge-Executive Mike Anderson; Albany Mayor John “Nicky” Smith; Campbellsville Mayor Tony Young; Russell County Judge-Executive Gary Robertson; and Adair County Citizen Member Sharon Payne.  As immediate past chairman, Eddie Wesley, Casey County Citizen Member, will also serve on the executive committee.

Three new citizen members were appointed to the LCADD Board, including Andrea Waggener, representing Adair County, Matt Murphy, representing Casey County, and Richard Troxell, representing Pulaski County.

The following were reappointed as citizen members: Jay Shofner, representing Green County; Allan Chapman, representing McCreary County; and June McGaha, representing Russell County.

The following leaders were appointed to head LCADD committees: Casey County Judge-Executive Randy Dial, Chairman of the Water Council Committee; McCreary County Judge-Executive Doug Stephens, Chairman of the Revolving Loan Fund Committee (RLF); and Taylor County Judge-Executive Eddie Rogers, Chairman of the Transportation Committee.

Mayor Curtis Hardwick and Mayor John “Nicky” Smith will serve on the Kentucky Council of Area Development Districts (KCADD).

Central Kitchen Prepares and Delivers Thousands of Meals Each Month

Roger York, Central Kitchen Manager, and Robin Lawless, Assistant Manager, arrive at LCADD’s Central Kitchen each day at 4:00 a.m. to begin the task of preparing and then distributing hundreds of meals to senior center facilities located throughout the Lake Cumberland region.

Looking for employment opportunities within our region? Visit our Facebook pages: